World-Designs-Forum

World-Designs-Forum (http://www.world-designs.co.uk/forum/index.php)
-   WD Amplifiers (http://www.world-designs.co.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   WD Phono 3 R35 (http://www.world-designs.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=7862)

Riggers 22nd February 2020 03:46 AM

WD Phono 3 R35
 
Hi All
After opening up my phono 3 (for the first time in ages) to test square wave response through an inverse RIAA filter recently (having had a good re-read of the build manual) I discovered that I still had the original R35 value fitted (10K 3W) all this time. For the first year or so it was the sole device powered from the WD PSU prior to me building a pre 3. R35 is in series from the power supply and I take it that it compensates for how much current draw the PSU deals with based on what is connected to it.

The manual states that if PSU powers both phono and pre a 1K should be fitted at R35. I have just completed this swap.

My question is is there likelihood of any damage due to running for so long long with high value R35?

Thanks as always
Phil.

bob orbell 22nd February 2020 03:27 PM

Re: WD Phono 3 R35
 
None, the Phono would have been working at a lower voltage, and would be quite happy, I doubt you will here any difference now you have fitted the correct resistor. Bob

bikerhifinut 22nd February 2020 05:16 PM

Re: WD Phono 3 R35
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob orbell (Post 90461)
None, the Phono would have been working at a lower voltage, and would be quite happy, I doubt you will here any difference now you have fitted the correct resistor. Bob

And conversely, if you'd been running the Phono3 on its own with the 1k resistor you'd be very unlikely to cause any damage.
Bobs on the button here.

A.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright World Designs