World-Designs-Forum

World-Designs-Forum (http://www.world-designs.co.uk/forum/index.php)
-   Sources (http://www.world-designs.co.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   Record clamp/weight (http://www.world-designs.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=1574)

graeme 20th August 2006 04:25 PM

Record clamp/weight
 
I'd been thinking of getting a record weight for a while, with the matts i use there isnt enough spindle to use a clamp.
Looking around they are generally around 500g and around £25.

In homebase today i found a doorstop, it looked about the right size and had the right look. I took it to the bathroom scales bit and it weighed, 1K, although i dont know how acurate the scales were.
There £7.99. I bought one to try. Its the right size, although the rubber ring might restrict things of the music gets very close to the lable. My rega arm will reach to within about 7-8mm from the lable. Take the ring off and it will get to the lable before it hits the weight.
It even has a rubber base. It obviously needs to be drilled a little. This doesnt look to be a problem.
Anyway, heres a pic,

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2.../weight002.jpg


http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2.../weight006.jpg

Sorry for my usual bad quality photo's.

I thought people might be interested in a cheep weight.

graeme 20th August 2006 06:07 PM

Re: Record clamp/weight
 
Well drilling was easy, adding the weight does improve the sound. Nothing drastic, just cleans it up a little, more bass control mainly.

As it is quite large (90mm) i did have to remove the rubber ring as some of my records get quite close to the lable, but all in all, im happy. Better than £25:D

Primalsea 20th August 2006 07:23 PM

Re: Record clamp/weight
 
That may be the way I go as well. I bought a Michell record clamp only to discover that the spindle on my TT is tapered at the top and is just that little bit too short for the clamp.

Cobblers 21st August 2006 12:51 AM

Re: Record clamp/weight
 
Graeme for those close ups you could you try using Macro mode!

I hate to sound like yer mom or something, but is that really where the power connections/multi way adaptor lives?

graeme 21st August 2006 10:28 AM

Re: Record clamp/weight
 
yep, but the amp is not used.
Only 3 or 4 of the sockets are ever used at once.
The amp used to be used, just for sound from the pc, but its not wired up right now.
I can think of a few reasons why you might have mentioned it, but what was your particulay concern?

Also, thats a £10 digi cam, but thats all i have right now:)

Cobblers 21st August 2006 11:05 AM

Re: Record clamp/weight
 
pic's quite good then!;)

Assie Ian 22nd January 2007 12:07 AM

Re: Record clamp/weight
 
Graeme.

Silly Question do LP clamps or weights slow down the LPs when playing?

Cheers Aussie Ian.

stewartwen 22nd January 2007 12:19 AM

Re: Record clamp/weight
 
Excellent find G! Guess where I am going tomorrow morning!!!
S

pre65 22nd January 2007 07:49 AM

Re: Record clamp/weight
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Assie Ian (Post 32252)
Graeme.

Silly Question do LP clamps or weights slow down the LPs when playing?

Cheers Aussie Ian.


Hi Ian-in a word,no.


Philip

Shane 22nd January 2007 07:58 AM

Re: Record clamp/weight
 
If they do, you've knackered the main bearing :).

This is a flippant comment really, but you should bear in mind that most turntables were not designed to run with a 1kg load on the bearing, and to do so could result in premature wear.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright World Designs