World-Designs-Forum  

Go Back   World-Designs-Forum > World Designs > Problems
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Today's Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Problems For questions and answers re World Designs Projects

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 15th October 2011, 05:56 PM
Ali Tait's Avatar
Ali Tait Ali Tait is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Dunfermline
Posts: 900
Default Re: WD PRE3 problems, assistance needed.

Might be an idea to convert the amp back to being a power amp.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 16th October 2011, 12:51 AM
KC Jones KC Jones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Stafford
Posts: 45
Default Re: WD PRE3 problems, assistance needed.

Good point Ali, suppose it can always be changed back. I dont know what adding a volume control takes away from its power capabilities in the first place but it has been handy over the past few months before I used the PRE. I believe the current WD88VA power amp sports a volume too?

Thanks Jan, I may take your advice first, swapping valves seems to be a easier option. Bob advised the same, the supplied JJ tubes can be rather bright and the sound can be smoooothed by swapping to something like a Philips?

Actually just spent the past hour listening to a bit of my mate Billy Bragg, which sound rather damn fine! (Option 3, always use with the PRE3 and not the 6550 on its own).

Cheers - KC
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 16th October 2011, 09:38 AM
bearded fiddler bearded fiddler is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tervuren, near Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 135
Default Re: WD PRE3 problems, assistance needed.

At the moment I'm using a pair of Philips JAN 6189W. Compared to the JJ's they produce a smoother and richer sound.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 16th October 2011, 10:39 AM
bob orbell bob orbell is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: kettering northants.
Posts: 1,627
Default Re: WD PRE3 problems, assistance needed.

Hi KC, with reguard to Ali's suggestion of going back to a power amp and removing the pot. (I think that is what he means) as I said when you collected the pre, I feel you will have far too much gain if you do this, try it first with the 6550 volume control turned to max, that is how it will sound, I think the KAT6550 is 500mv for full power, so some sort of PD is needed with the PRE3 whether fixed or adjustable. I have a pair of PHILLIPS JAN 5814 valves that you can try with your PRE3 if you wish. I will be in touch when the PHONO is sorted. BOB
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 22nd October 2011, 06:48 PM
bob orbell bob orbell is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: kettering northants.
Posts: 1,627
Default Re: WD PRE3 problems, assistance needed.

Your PHONO 3S is now up and running KC, problem [1, broken track on the input relay board, now fixed. [2, input selector set to six positions. [3, one SUT diss on the secondary, now fixed, same thing as on others, two ends of the winding coroded, looks like they have been soldered with acid flux because of green corosion, do hope the new ones MS has are better. BOB
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 26th October 2011, 11:22 AM
KC Jones KC Jones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Stafford
Posts: 45
Default Re: WD PRE3 problems, assistance needed.

Thats excellent Bob, I shall be over Friday evening to collect.
Cheers.
KC
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 31st October 2011, 10:27 AM
KC Jones KC Jones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Stafford
Posts: 45
Default Re: WD PRE3 problems, assistance needed.

Phono is now fixed, just a couple of beginner errors! and a stepup transformer problem. Its now looking a lot neat 'n' tidier on the inside too - my solodering is a bit messy.

A huge thanks to Bob, a very friendly helpful chap who most definately knows his onions. Also I would not hesitate to recommend his work to anyone who needs hands-on diagnostics and repair.

Thanks Bob, much appreciated.

Kevin.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 1st November 2011, 09:19 AM
Richard Richard is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Notts
Posts: 4,603
Default Re: WD PRE3 problems, assistance needed.

Well done Bob
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 1st November 2011, 01:30 PM
bob orbell bob orbell is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: kettering northants.
Posts: 1,627
Default Re: WD PRE3 problems, assistance needed.

Thank you Richard, and a big thank you to KC for his donation..
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 5th November 2011, 08:08 PM
bob orbell bob orbell is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: kettering northants.
Posts: 1,627
Default Re: WD PRE3 problems, assistance needed.

Here is a picture of KC Jones SUT showing the broken wires.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 003.jpg (57.8 KB, 50 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright World Designs