World-Designs-Forum  

Go Back   World-Designs-Forum > World Designs > WD Amplifiers
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

WD Amplifiers For discusson of World Designs Amplifiers

Old 8th November 2008, 01:02 PM

Default 300b pp v WD88VA Valve Amplifier

Greetings,

I've been a forum member for a while but this is my first post - the questions I've had always seem to have been answered already.

I've been running a pair of 300b pp for a few years now, driving a very easily driven pair of speakers (97db/6 ohm) but have now secured some Tannoy Ardens (94db/8 ohm) and am minded to try out the WD88VA Valve Amplifier
with its greater power output of 35 watts.

Any thoughts from WD88VA uers as to their sound quality versus the 300b pp would be appreaciated.

Thanks,

Dub...
Old 10th November 2008, 02:18 PM

Default Re: 300b pp v WD88VA Valve Amplifier

Are you sure you need more power? My Cheviots (12" HPDs) make enough noise for me run from my KEL84 (15W).

Regards, Phil.
Old 10th November 2008, 03:52 PM
Super Moderator

Hi Dub,

Agreed with Phil, I don't think you'll hear the difference between 26W and 35W with 94dB speakers in a domestic room. I use 32W (original 300Bpp stereo chassis) in the system at the mo with 84dB speakers in a largish room and it goes loud enough!

I also have a pair of your 300Bpp monos, very nice indeed, and have heard WD88 (though only at Bristol show) and it is superb. I had a re-worked Kit88 a while back with excellent transformers and it was in that league, even-handed and refined, a very nice example of the KT88 breed. I haven't heard it enough though to choose from a sound quality point of view.

Rich
Old 10th November 2008, 04:10 PM

there was a hint that the new kt88 may be as good an amp as the 300b, we need to establish if this is so.
Old 19th November 2008, 06:40 PM

Thank you for your replies Phil, Rich and Ian.

I’ve been laid low with flu for a while so haven’t made any posts lately.