World-Designs-Forum  

Go Back   World-Designs-Forum > World Designs > WD Amplifiers
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

WD Amplifiers For discusson of World Designs Amplifiers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th July 2011, 05:49 PM
john & Jake the dog's Avatar
john & Jake the dog john & Jake the dog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stockton on Tees North Ea
Posts: 750
Default 110 volts ?

Hi I have had a query regarding voltage for the WAD kel84 that I'm selling on Ebay.
The query is from Italy and he is wondering if it can run on 110 volts.
I think my newer WD kl84 transformer can be wired for 110 but can the older WAD transformer be re-configured.
cheers
__________________
john & who still runs rings round me
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th July 2011, 06:14 PM
pre65's Avatar
pre65 pre65 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashen- Essex/Suffolk bord
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: 110 volts ?

Have a look and see how many terminals on the primary ?

If only 2 you could swap mains transformers with t'other one ?
__________________
Philip.

Everything in this post is my honest opinion based on what i thought I knew at that very moment in time.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th July 2011, 06:28 PM
david counter's Avatar
david counter david counter is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: south west London
Posts: 1,505
Default Re: 110 volts ?

hi John,
even the early ones can be cofigured for 110v
__________________
David
"I always wanted to procrastinate, but I just never got around to it."






Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th July 2011, 06:33 PM
John Caswell John Caswell is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire
Posts: 1,599
Default Re: 110 volts ?

Hi John,
According to the cct diagram the KEL power tx has two 110V windings that can be connected in series or parallel.
They are colour coded
Winding one 110V - blue and grey
Winding two 110V - violet and brown
For 240V connect grey to violet and insulate, 240 v across blue and brown
For 110V connect blue to violet and brown to grey 110v across blue/violet and brown/grey.

John
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th July 2011, 07:00 PM
john & Jake the dog's Avatar
john & Jake the dog john & Jake the dog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stockton on Tees North Ea
Posts: 750
Default Re: 110 volts ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pre65 View Post
Have a look and see how many terminals on the primary ?

If only 2 you could swap mains transformers with t'other one ?
Hi many thanks,
no fear my other one is the one I built and is a pride and joy

Thanks John and David, I'll pass the info on to the prospective bidder.
__________________
john & who still runs rings round me
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright World Designs