World-Designs-Forum  

Go Back   World-Designs-Forum > DIY Projects > Sources
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Today's Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Sources Your DIY source designs (turntables etc.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st December 2006, 05:43 PM
waynej4 waynej4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kent
Posts: 32
Default New phonostage - lots of static?

Hi All,

***Warning!! Probable stupid question alert!!***

I have just completed my build of the Williams Hart phonostage. This is to replace my £25 NAD phonostage bought off ebay.

Now, after some listening, I hear a lot more of the static on my vinyl through the Williams Hart phonostage than I did through the NAD. I do prefer the sound from the Williams hart, and it does sound a lot more detailed than the NAD did.

So, my question is, is this "extra" static a result of a better phonostage or something else?

Cheers,
Wayne

Last edited by waynej4; 21st December 2006 at 05:43 PM. Reason: Name added
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st December 2006, 05:56 PM
Andrew Andrew is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Korvatunturi
Posts: 932
Default Re: New phonostage - lots of static?

Hi,

Possibly, do you mean more high freq hiss, seems like surface noise?

cheers,

-- Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st December 2006, 06:45 PM
waynej4 waynej4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kent
Posts: 32
Default Re: New phonostage - lots of static?

Hi Andrew,

Thanks for the quick response. No, I mean the clicks and pops caused by static on the vinyl.

Cheers,
Wayne.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st December 2006, 07:33 PM
Andrew Andrew is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Korvatunturi
Posts: 932
Default Re: New phonostage - lots of static?

Hi,

Ahh, right, got it, yes possibly the phono, I suspect its going into overload when it hits a fault, click or pop on the disc. That would be my guess anyway. The click generates lots of nasties and the amp sections are upset by this since they either don't have enough headroom to cope with the sudden peak in signal or its at a frequency that they don't like, and can't handle very well?

Hope that helps? Its a bit of a guess.....perhaps someone else will chip in here.

It is a transistor based or op amps? If op amps sometimes you can interchange them for better spec ones.

cheers,

-- Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st December 2006, 07:55 PM
Clive Clive is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alrincham, Cheshire, UK
Posts: 788
Default Re: New phonostage - lots of static?

If this is the fully discrete version then it is very good at handling pops and clicks as it has a high overload characteristic (for a SS circuit).

It's not a problem I had with mine, could you say more about the rest of your system? Could it be you are hearing that your records need cleaning or might the cartridge loading be wrong?

Clive
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st December 2006, 08:09 PM
waynej4 waynej4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kent
Posts: 32
Default Re: New phonostage - lots of static?

Hi All,

Once again, thanks for the responses.

It is a SS phono as Clive mentioned. To answer your questions Clive, I have a Rega P3 t/t with an RB300 tonearm, LINN K9 MM cartridge going through the Williams Hart phonostage and a WAD KIT6550.

I suspect my records may need a clean, it is just that the sounds weren't that obvious to me on the NAD. I thought maybe it was because the NAD was suppressing a lot of info? Is this possible?

Forgive me, but I am an audiophile novice! I will give my records a clean and ensure the cartridge load is as it should be.

Thanks again for your help.

Wayne.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st December 2006, 08:30 PM
James D James D is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,268
Default Re: New phonostage - lots of static?

I would suspect that either the platter or the tonearm isn't earthed if there is a lot of static.

James
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st December 2006, 08:44 PM
Andrew Andrew is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Korvatunturi
Posts: 932
Default Re: New phonostage - lots of static?

Hi Wayne,

Why not try cleaning a disc?

I use Carex and warm water and a bit of cotton wool, avoid w's up liquid etc. I put the disc on a clean pot towel and wipe around with the wet slighly soapy cotton wool. Then let it mostly dry, then wipe again with pure industrial alchohol to fully dry it and then leave it for 20 minutes. This is not as good as as vacuum cleaner but it does a reasonable job.

I practiced this on several old "unwanted" records first.

Hope this helps. BTW if Clive says the WH should be OK then I would trust his judgement over my initial diagnosis.

best of luck.

-- Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st December 2006, 08:50 PM
Greg.'s Avatar
Greg. Greg. is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,071
Default Re: New phonostage - lots of static?

Hi Wayne,

Is it static or dust/dirt/mould in the grooves?

If it is static, the LP's will show other obvious signs such as attraction etc. You can feel it with your hands, light materials will be attracted to the LP surface etc. If it's dirt in the groove, it may well be that you have built a much more revealing (you mentioned improved detail) phonostage and this aspect was not so obvious with the NAD. I understand youe WH Phono is highly regarded.

If your records need cleaning, realistically they need a proper wet clean with a vacuum based cleaner to produce satisfactory results.

Best wishes,

Greg
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd December 2006, 08:20 AM
Paul Barker's Avatar
Paul Barker Paul Barker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,609
Default Re: New phonostage - lots of static?

The NAD phono stage isn't really of merchantable quality. No wander you weren't able to hear surface noise before. I doubt the sound was anything more than a dull flat, shrunken line (no depth).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Great Phonostage Mod. Ianm2 Amplifiers 5 27th June 2006 11:41 PM
is this static? graeme Sources 4 25th June 2006 02:56 PM
Speaker quality acorn General 15 28th April 2006 02:16 PM
aikido preamp or phonostage, or both!! Ianm2 Wish List 1 26th February 2006 08:22 PM
DIY Phonostage? waynej4 General 8 8th February 2006 09:33 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright World Designs