World-Designs-Forum  

Go Back   World-Designs-Forum > DIY Projects > Amplifiers
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Today's Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Amplifiers Your DIY amplifier designs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 19th June 2016, 12:32 AM
Richard Richard is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Notts
Posts: 4,612
Default Re: Nice phono stage with subsonic filter?

Sounds good Philip
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 19th June 2016, 08:37 AM
pre65's Avatar
pre65 pre65 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashen- Essex/Suffolk bord
Posts: 4,376
Default Re: Nice phono stage with subsonic filter?

It was.

Morgan is a very nice guy, and most helpful with his advice.

He signed my 3rd edition book, and presented me with a 4th edition FOC, BUT it's the Chinese version. (yes really)
__________________
Philip.

Everything in this post is my honest opinion based on what i thought I knew at that very moment in time.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 19th June 2016, 09:28 PM
Greg.'s Avatar
Greg. Greg. is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,138
Default Re: Nice phono stage with subsonic filter?

Infinitely Baffled, you have PM.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 6th February 2017, 03:52 PM
bikerhifinut bikerhifinut is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Penrith, Cumbria
Posts: 890
Default Re: Nice phono stage with subsonic filter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg. View Post
As my WAD Phono 2 has a subsonic filter, I don't suffer from speaker cone flap. Off course, it can also be caused by circuit instability. I remember a member here (who has not posted for several years) bringing his Phono/Pre 2 around and on switch on, my speaker cones started flapping. Switched off and refused to use his kit in my system. Whether or not he got it sorted, I have no idea.
Re reading this thread and that reminds me of the issues I had with my Phono3S and CF preamps that wouldn't be tamed from their LF instability. I finally nailed it by using a fully regulated HT supply which suggests to me that there was an issue somewhere in the original WD PSU board.
I've got a spare mains transformer and choke, and unpopulated PSU3 board in the box of goodies and at some point the intention is to build it all up using premium silicon and capacitors and I can then try it with the Phono3S.
I did notice the Phono3S seems to have a bit of corrosion/fluffy flux deposits round the valve bases and that also gave me thoughts that perhaps they could be part of the problem but as the effect was observed on a number of preamp circuits I concluded that the oscillation was being coupled through from the PSU.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright World Designs