World-Designs-Forum  

Go Back   World-Designs-Forum > World Designs > WD Other Parts and Projects
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

WD Other Parts and Projects All other WD Parts and Projects

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th November 2019, 04:08 PM
johnm johnm is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 12
Default Pimping a PSU3?

Hi folks!

Haven’t visited here in a loooong time so re-registered. So hello!

I finished a Phono 3 stage earlier this week (MM only), and have just taken delivery of the PSU3. Reading through threads here it seems many have pimped the psu3 with slightly better parts, and I want to do the same to avoid faffing around with upgrades later. Just want to build once and do it right.

I’d appreciate if anyone could confirm the following parts are still considered good upgrades:

PCB = V3.2

D1/2/3/4 Supplied with UF5408. Substituting with:

https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/recti...iodes/7027462/

D5/6/7/8 Supplied with 1N5822. Keeping those as-is.

Rectifier LM1084 IT-ADJ. keeping as-is.

C1/2 Panasonic ED 100uF / 450V. Adding C3/4 and changing all to:

https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/alumi...itors/4340964/

C5/7 Changing the supplied 100uF caps (LL brand I think? Diamond logo) to Panasonic NHGs. Is there a better choice here? C7 is right after a regulator so does that mean an ultra low ESR cap is out i.e. Panny FC?

Does the above look like an effective route to improving PSU3 a little with going full audio-foo on it?

Cheers,

John.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th November 2019, 05:32 PM
bob orbell bob orbell is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: kettering northants.
Posts: 2,332
Default Re: Pimping a PSU3?

Hi John, most would advise building as is and then upgrading, but, I see no reason why you should not replace the HT diodes with Schottky type although, you do not need and it is not good advice to use 2 amp diodes, smaller current rated diodes would suit better, to that end I think that Matthew has some in stock, HT capacitors, low ESR are the ones to go for and although you can fill all four places, if you are only going to run the Phono it is money wasted as one of them will do nothing, as for the heater diodes and capacitors, I doubt you will hear any difference from the supplied components, regulator is good and the PCB should be the latest incarnation. Bob
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th November 2019, 08:42 PM
johnm johnm is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 12
Default Re: Pimping a PSU3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob orbell View Post
Hi John, most would advise building as is and then upgrading, but, I see no reason why you should not replace the HT diodes with Schottky type although, you do not need and it is not good advice to use 2 amp diodes, smaller current rated diodes would suit better, to that end I think that Matthew has some in stock, HT capacitors, low ESR are the ones to go for and although you can fill all four places, if you are only going to run the Phono it is money wasted as one of them will do nothing, as for the heater diodes and capacitors, I doubt you will hear any difference from the supplied components, regulator is good and the PCB should be the latest incarnation. Bob
Thanks for your thoughts Bob, much appreciated. Looking forward to getting Phono3 up and running, perhaps this weekend.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th November 2019, 11:33 PM
MrKettle MrKettle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 70
Default Re: Pimping a PSU3?

Has there been any change to the spec of the choke? That was the standard first step, putting in something like a Hammond 126C took the hum level down usefully.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st December 2019, 08:42 AM
bob orbell bob orbell is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: kettering northants.
Posts: 2,332
Default Re: Pimping a PSU3?

This Hammond mod I did to one of my power supply's, it did nothing, there was no hum in the first place, the best course of action is low ESR capacitors and a HT regulator,
both my power supply's leave no trace of AC on the scope. Bob
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st December 2019, 12:00 PM
Greg.'s Avatar
Greg. Greg. is offline
WD Archivist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,482
Default Re: Pimping a PSU3?

In contrast, I did the choke mod in my PSU ll and it made a noticeable improvement to the sound overall. IIRC, some found benefit from the mod and others didnít.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd December 2019, 04:47 PM
MrKettle MrKettle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 70
Default Re: Pimping a PSU3?

It may well depend on whether the PSU is running one or two components, given the effect of draw on ripple. With a Pre3 and Phono 3 putting in two Hammond chokes with an addition LC killed off a slight background hum and even with a different stage with a cascode first stage with zero PSRR there is no hum. For just a Phono 2/3 the standard setup may well be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd December 2019, 05:52 PM
colin.hepburn colin.hepburn is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Newtonhill Aberdeenshire
Posts: 2,633
Default Re: Pimping a PSU3?

Hi John/All
|Yes it was me who came up with the Hammond Choke mod the choke is the 157G/30H @ 40ma/595ohms can be got from here http://www.bluebellaudio.com/

As Greg has said some liked the mod some did not hear a difference But I would say like Bob has said Build it as is first and get an ear for the sound first and then try the choke upgrade

On my system the change to the sound was clear in that there was more body and depth and imaging was is much wider. Now Pleas bear in mind I bid this mod to the PSU 2 version only so cannot speak for the new PSU3

I also suggested the oscon Cap for the phono 2 on the 5751 cathode which was also tested out by Richard who confirmed the same as me that treble was more refined

The modes you refer to in your first post I did on the phono 2 from the off but only because I did not have the kit I only had the PCB board but yes build it standard first if you have got the full kit

The other thing to note About the above modes for me anyway was that my system is singe ended Amp and Frugal Back loaded horns with fostex 126E drivers and Bass helpers So this is likely why I noted the bigger differences with the choke mod
Hope is helps
Colin
__________________
The Blues man

Turntable Rega 3 custom RB250 with ortofon 2M Blue /other goldring 1042 /WD phono2 /WD CF pre custom converted /WD psu2 /home built JE Labs Single Ended 6SL7/KT66/Speakers Frugal horns Mk1s
Other turntables AR EB101/Thorns TD150mk2/Thorns TD160mk2


If you have trouble reading my posts its because I am a dyslexic member
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright World Designs