World-Designs-Forum  

Go Back   World-Designs-Forum > World Designs > WD Other Parts and Projects
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

WD Other Parts and Projects All other WD Parts and Projects

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st June 2020, 04:13 PM
colin.hepburn colin.hepburn is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Newtonhill Aberdeenshire
Posts: 2,633
Default WAD Psu3 replacement Board Build

Hi all
l now have the new replacement PSU and full manual ready to go soon
Some questions thought to start with
1. The no-load Voltage for PSU3 at C1 is 410v and on PSU2 its 363vat C1 with same TX 0v-270 volts 60mA assuming main voltage difference seems odd to me

2. Change out the 1k R4 for 22k add the 200-volt Zenner and C3 100uf for the CF pre-HT 200volts
3. add back in C4. 100uf for phono HT 250 volts as was before on the psu2.

I was just going to swap over the component to the new board but with the higher voltage the main 100uf Caps are only rated for 400 volts so decided to just use all new parts with the exception of the two bridge rectifiers as they were upgraded off the PSU2 when we build it last time
For know thank all
Colin
__________________
The Blues man

Turntable Rega 3 custom RB250 with ortofon 2M Blue /other goldring 1042 /WD phono2 /WD CF pre custom converted /WD psu2 /home built JE Labs Single Ended 6SL7/KT66/Speakers Frugal horns Mk1s
Other turntables AR EB101/Thorns TD150mk2/Thorns TD160mk2


If you have trouble reading my posts its because I am a dyslexic member
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st June 2020, 04:30 PM
Richard Richard is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Notts
Posts: 5,134
Default Re: WAD Psu3 replacement Board Build

Hi Col,
Can you meter the TX secondary red/black on both for 270V AC?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st June 2020, 04:35 PM
colin.hepburn colin.hepburn is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Newtonhill Aberdeenshire
Posts: 2,633
Default Re: WAD Psu3 replacement Board Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard View Post
Hi Col,
Can you meter the TX secondary red/black on both for 270V AC?
Richard
yes I will come back on that need to disconnect the TX from the old board to check it
__________________
The Blues man

Turntable Rega 3 custom RB250 with ortofon 2M Blue /other goldring 1042 /WD phono2 /WD CF pre custom converted /WD psu2 /home built JE Labs Single Ended 6SL7/KT66/Speakers Frugal horns Mk1s
Other turntables AR EB101/Thorns TD150mk2/Thorns TD160mk2


If you have trouble reading my posts its because I am a dyslexic member
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st June 2020, 04:44 PM
colin.hepburn colin.hepburn is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Newtonhill Aberdeenshire
Posts: 2,633
Default Re: WAD Psu3 replacement Board Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by colin.hepburn View Post
Richard
yes I will come back on that need to disconnect the TX from the old board to check it
OK, Richard, I get 279 volts AC with wall main At 246volts
__________________
The Blues man

Turntable Rega 3 custom RB250 with ortofon 2M Blue /other goldring 1042 /WD phono2 /WD CF pre custom converted /WD psu2 /home built JE Labs Single Ended 6SL7/KT66/Speakers Frugal horns Mk1s
Other turntables AR EB101/Thorns TD150mk2/Thorns TD160mk2


If you have trouble reading my posts its because I am a dyslexic member

Last edited by colin.hepburn; 21st June 2020 at 04:54 PM. Reason: updated post
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st June 2020, 05:28 PM
Richard Richard is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Notts
Posts: 5,134
Default Re: WAD Psu3 replacement Board Build

Are you using just 1 TX connected to both PSU2 and 3 pcbs Col? I thought you had 2 and maybe one TX was incorrect voltage.


If the pcbs were both tested off the same single TX PSU2 looks about right so just hook up PSU3 and work on that. I can't see an obvious reason for it being so high, is the bridge correct, they are separate diodes I think?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st June 2020, 05:45 PM
colin.hepburn colin.hepburn is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Newtonhill Aberdeenshire
Posts: 2,633
Default Re: WAD Psu3 replacement Board Build

Hi Richard
Sorry the psu3 in not build yet I was just inquiring why the voltage of the PSU 3 was higher At C1 410volt than C1 on the psu2 schematic has a lower voltage with same TX used on both comparing looking at both schematics I Was just checking on this before ordering new higher voltage Caps for C1/2/3/4
__________________
The Blues man

Turntable Rega 3 custom RB250 with ortofon 2M Blue /other goldring 1042 /WD phono2 /WD CF pre custom converted /WD psu2 /home built JE Labs Single Ended 6SL7/KT66/Speakers Frugal horns Mk1s
Other turntables AR EB101/Thorns TD150mk2/Thorns TD160mk2


If you have trouble reading my posts its because I am a dyslexic member
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st June 2020, 06:37 PM
Richard Richard is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Notts
Posts: 5,134
Default Re: WAD Psu3 replacement Board Build

Hi Col, Sorry if I'm misunderstanding but it's 335V at C1 same for both PSU2 and PSU3v3 on my copies. Do you have a different schematic? I can send my info if it helps.

Last edited by Richard; 21st June 2020 at 11:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st June 2020, 06:59 PM
colin.hepburn colin.hepburn is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Newtonhill Aberdeenshire
Posts: 2,633
Default Re: WAD Psu3 replacement Board Build

Hi Richard
Strange the manual I have says 410 at C1 and 410 At R4 the manual is WDPSU 3 schematic V3 so it’s wrong
Yes if you could send me your info as this manual I have seems way out looking at it further the pinouts for both phono and pre 3 on the back panel in this manual are 380v to 420v on both:plus HTR+60volts HTR -53 volts page 14 testing reads phono and pre ht 380vto 420v so this manual no good PSU Build 03/2011
__________________
The Blues man

Turntable Rega 3 custom RB250 with ortofon 2M Blue /other goldring 1042 /WD phono2 /WD CF pre custom converted /WD psu2 /home built JE Labs Single Ended 6SL7/KT66/Speakers Frugal horns Mk1s
Other turntables AR EB101/Thorns TD150mk2/Thorns TD160mk2


If you have trouble reading my posts its because I am a dyslexic member

Last edited by colin.hepburn; 21st June 2020 at 07:10 PM. Reason: added text
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st June 2020, 09:58 PM
Richard Richard is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Notts
Posts: 5,134
Default Re: WAD Psu3 replacement Board Build

Hi Col, no probs will do. Please drop me a PM with your email as I lost my email address book with the last Win 10 install.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21st June 2020, 11:18 PM
colin.hepburn colin.hepburn is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Newtonhill Aberdeenshire
Posts: 2,633
Default Re: WAD Psu3 replacement Board Build

Richard PM Sent
Thanks
Colin
__________________
The Blues man

Turntable Rega 3 custom RB250 with ortofon 2M Blue /other goldring 1042 /WD phono2 /WD CF pre custom converted /WD psu2 /home built JE Labs Single Ended 6SL7/KT66/Speakers Frugal horns Mk1s
Other turntables AR EB101/Thorns TD150mk2/Thorns TD160mk2


If you have trouble reading my posts its because I am a dyslexic member
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright World Designs