World-Designs-Forum  

Go Back   World-Designs-Forum > WAD > WAD Problems
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

WAD Problems For questions and answers re older World Audio Design Projects

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 29th June 2020, 11:10 PM
John Caswell John Caswell is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire
Posts: 1,668
Default Re: Purpose of CF mod on Pre2?

Hi Eddie,
It is now becoming clearer, because the Pre2 has a fair amount of gain ergo the output level is high, I suspect that you are overloading the the first stage of the HD83. It will sound pretty awful.
As Bob said, and a lot of others, me included, the best way is to fed it from the tape output of the Pre.
I think that has sorted problem nr 1 so......... next

John
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 30th June 2020, 10:08 AM
hawkinsec hawkinsec is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Peterborough, Cambridgesh
Posts: 28
Default Re: Purpose of CF mod on Pre2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Caswell View Post
Hi Eddie,
It is now becoming clearer, because the Pre2 has a fair amount of gain ergo the output level is high, I suspect that you are overloading the the first stage of the HD83. It will sound pretty awful.
As Bob said, and a lot of others, me included, the best way is to fed it from the tape output of the Pre.
I think that has sorted problem nr 1 so......... next

John
It seems that things have become a little muddled by the interchange between Bob and myself regarding what I did and why I did it. At no point has a problem been introduced by connecting the HD83 in this manner. it was simply something I did in order to ascertain whether the problem was peculiar to the pre/power combination I was using.
The problem I had seems to have disappeared after having cleaned the valve pins and base with some switch cleaner.
__________________
Eddie
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 30th June 2020, 02:25 PM
John Caswell John Caswell is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wokingham, Berkshire
Posts: 1,668
Default Re: Purpose of CF mod on Pre2?

Hi Eddie,
Well that's good to know.
I guess it's a case of "too many cooks"

John
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 30th June 2020, 02:49 PM
hawkinsec hawkinsec is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Peterborough, Cambridgesh
Posts: 28
Default Re: Purpose of CF mod on Pre2?

Thank you anyway, John.
With regard to the original point of the thread, I think that I will not bother with the CF mod, but save my pennies up and buy whatever version is available when my wife has calmed down enough to risk spending money on hifi again.
By the way, I have the pre positioned about a foot away from the nearest power supply and two feet away from the power amp power supply (which is a two handed jobby, even without the amp) and there is no hum at all.
Also, just finished listening to Tchaikovsky's Symphony No 6 and it sounded beautiful.
__________________
Eddie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright World Designs