World-Designs-Forum  

Go Back   World-Designs-Forum > DIY Projects > Useful Links
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Gallery Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Useful Links Links to other useful sites

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th March 2011, 04:51 PM
Clive Clive is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alrincham, Cheshire, UK
Posts: 788
Default Software Oscilloscope

On the WDPhono 3.18uS thread I mentioned a software oscilloscope I use for checking the azimuth of my cartridge in conjunction with the HFN test record (side 2, band 5 on my version). The same software could be used to set the HF trimmer on the Phono3. WD probably can't recommend any particular freeware as they could need a commercial license if they were to do this, but we can use this software for personal use legally. The scope I downloaded is found at:
http://www.zeitnitz.de/Christian/scope_de

When using this software you need to ensure your PC input is stereo (if you need this).

Here is what my how my cartridge measure with azimuth properly set, note that one channel is at a slightly lower level than the other and some dust probably messed up up one channel a fraction in this first image:




Here the azimuth is out in one direction:




Here azimuth is out in the other direction:

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th March 2011, 05:43 PM
colin.hepburn colin.hepburn is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Newtonhill Aberdeenshire
Posts: 2,618
Default Re: Software Oscilloscope

Well I have just tried to install the scope it tell me no sound card was found I am using windows 7 my sound card is High Definition Audio Device which is built in on the mother board
__________________
The Blues man

Turntable Rega 3 custom RB250 with ortofon 2M Blue /other goldring 1042 /WD phono2 /WD CF pre custom converted /WD psu2 /home built JE Labs Single Ended 6SL7/KT66/Speakers Frugal horns Mk1s
Other turntables AR EB101/Thorns TD150mk2/Thorns TD160mk2


If you have trouble reading my posts its because I am a dyslexic member
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th March 2011, 05:50 PM
Clive Clive is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alrincham, Cheshire, UK
Posts: 788
Default Re: Software Oscilloscope

Try the 1.40 beta version? Maybe that's more 7 friendly? My installation was on an XP laptop, motherboard soundcard.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th March 2011, 06:57 PM
colin.hepburn colin.hepburn is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Newtonhill Aberdeenshire
Posts: 2,618
Default Re: Software Oscilloscope

Well I won’t be using this I afraid both versions do not run in windows 7 IE blocks versions 1.40 plus there’s no uninstall plus it puts files very where I now have to clean my reg out full of spy-ware do not go near this
__________________
The Blues man

Turntable Rega 3 custom RB250 with ortofon 2M Blue /other goldring 1042 /WD phono2 /WD CF pre custom converted /WD psu2 /home built JE Labs Single Ended 6SL7/KT66/Speakers Frugal horns Mk1s
Other turntables AR EB101/Thorns TD150mk2/Thorns TD160mk2


If you have trouble reading my posts its because I am a dyslexic member
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th March 2011, 07:06 PM
Dave Cawley's Avatar
Dave Cawley Dave Cawley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dartmouth Devon UK
Posts: 98
Question Re: Software Oscilloscope

As well as the above. What is the input impedance and is it static over the frequency range. And also the frequency response, is it flat and does it stay flat at all input levels? And is the input floating from ground?

Regards

Dave
__________________
.
Sound Hi Fi ~~~ Timestep Forum
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th March 2011, 07:25 PM
NickG's Avatar
NickG NickG is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Halifax, West Yorkshire
Posts: 1,767
Default Re: Software Oscilloscope

Quote:
As well as the above. What is the input impedance and is it static over the frequency range. And also the frequency response, is it flat and does it stay flat at all input levels? And is the input floating from ground?
The input is the input of your sound car, so only you can answer those questions.

My only problem with using a sound card for setting up the phono, is you need to be able to see the square wave response and I would think that at least 200kHz bandwidth would be needed to get any meaningful results. You also need a source of square waves and a inverse riaa circuit of some sort.
__________________
Just about everything I say has been in public use since the 1940's so no one owns the copyright on that.

If by any chance its not prior art, then the copyright is retained by me.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th March 2011, 07:27 PM
Clive Clive is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alrincham, Cheshire, UK
Posts: 788
Default Re: Software Oscilloscope

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Cawley View Post
As well as the above. What is the input impedance and is it static over the frequency range. And also the frequency response, is it flat and does it stay flat at all input levels? And is the input floating from ground?

Regards

Dave
The soundcard was plugged into my preamp "record out".
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th March 2011, 07:29 PM
Clive Clive is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alrincham, Cheshire, UK
Posts: 788
Default Re: Software Oscilloscope

Quote:
Originally Posted by colin.hepburn View Post
Well I won’t be using this I afraid both versions do not run in windows 7 IE blocks versions 1.40 plus there’s no uninstall plus it puts files very where I now have to clean my reg out full of spy-ware do not go near this
I'm not surprised this freeware uses cookies to keep track of usage. They'll want to ensure any commercial usage is logged.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th March 2011, 07:38 PM
pre65's Avatar
pre65 pre65 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashen- Essex/Suffolk bord
Posts: 4,549
Default Re: Software Oscilloscope

Quote:
Originally Posted by colin.hepburn View Post
Well I won’t be using this I afraid both versions do not run in windows 7 IE blocks versions 1.40 plus there’s no uninstall plus it puts files very where I now have to clean my reg out full of spy-ware do not go near this
I use "Agent Ransack" for finding and removing files where no other method works.

And it's free.
__________________
Philip.

Everything in this post is my honest opinion based on what i thought I knew at that very moment in time.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th March 2011, 07:44 PM
colin.hepburn colin.hepburn is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Newtonhill Aberdeenshire
Posts: 2,618
Default Re: Software Oscilloscope

Yep no worries thou
I have seen thing about reverse riaa somewhere and which i have just found it again if its what is meant by reverse riaa it maybe of interest http://sound.westhost.com/project80.htm
__________________
The Blues man

Turntable Rega 3 custom RB250 with ortofon 2M Blue /other goldring 1042 /WD phono2 /WD CF pre custom converted /WD psu2 /home built JE Labs Single Ended 6SL7/KT66/Speakers Frugal horns Mk1s
Other turntables AR EB101/Thorns TD150mk2/Thorns TD160mk2


If you have trouble reading my posts its because I am a dyslexic member

Last edited by colin.hepburn; 12th March 2011 at 08:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright World Designs